Port Property requires:
A sufficient Risk Score – this “risk score” is a number that is calculated by a third party processing center using your credit score from all three credit bureaus. A Risk Score below 620 (Maine applicants), 570 (North Carolina applicants) or a result of “N/A” requires a cosigner.
Proof of income: Your gross monthly income must be at least two and a half times the monthly rent (Maine applicants) or two times the monthly rent (North Carolina applicants). If you are employed and/or don’t meet our income criteria, you will need to have a qualified co-signer.
Last month’s rent deposit equal to one-month’s rent: This deposit will remain on file with your apartment until your tenancy/responsibility ends and will be applied to your last month’s rent.
A security deposit: The amount will range from $300 to one full month’s rent. The amount is determined by your Risk Score results. A lower Risk Score will result in a higher security deposit, while a higher Risk Score will result in a lower security deposit.
First month’s rent payment.
Admin fee (for North Carolina only).
For more details about rental requirements, see the full Rental Policy.
We partner with RentGrow for our screening process. For more information about RentGrow or how to obtain a copy of your screening report, please visit: HOME – RentGrow
Port Property Pet Policy:
Residents are permitted to have up to 2 pets total per apartment.
There are some breed restrictions for dogs.
All dogs and cats must be vaccinated and spayed/neutered.
We require a meeting with all dogs. We approve/decline dogs based heavily on demeanor.
Please see the FULL pet policy here.
We adhere to all applicable fair housing laws. All advertised prices are based on one to two tenants per bedroom. An additional resident per bedroom may reside in the apartment, if occupancy guidelines permit.
We do accept housing subsidies. We also provide affordable housing options through the Low Income Housing Tax Credit (LIHTC) program.
We encourage you to review our apartments page for listings of current available apartments and then give us a call.
Please review our Application Information page or give us a call and we can guide your through the next steps.
You should have these utilities put into your name starting the day your lease begins. If the utility technician will need access to a locked area to set up services please give Port Property advance notice of your appointment (must be scheduled Monday through Friday) so that we may assist the technician. If the technician needs access to your apartment you must be present to assist them as Port Property will not be allowed to enter your apartment.
We do require a signed 1-year lease for most properties. If you are looking for a shorter or longer lease, please contact us.
Your rent payment is due on the 1st of each month. Please give us a call if you will not be able to make your rent payment on or before the 1st of the month.
If we do not receive your full rent payment by the 8th of the month, it will be considered late (per your lease) and you will receive a Five-day Notice to Quit. This notice is a legal document that provides you with the opportunity to submit your full rent payment within 5 days.
For Maine: If the full rent amount is not paid by the 15th of the month, you will be charged a 4% late fee.
For North Carolina: If the full rent amount is not paid by the 5th day of the month, you will be charged a 5% late fee.
We recommend using our online portal, Rent Café, to submit rent payments as the payments are posted to your account quickly and accurately. Log in here
If you are unable to submit your payment online for any reason, we do accept payments in the form of a check or money order as well. If you choose to submit your payment in this manner, please make sure to indicate which building and apartment you are submitting payment for on the memo line of the submitted payment. This will ensure that your payment is processed properly.
If you have a maintenance concern that is not an emergency, we recommend logging into your Rent Café account to create a work order request. Log in here.
If your concern needs to be addressed immediately (no heat, hot water/water, power) please contact our office during business hours or the emergency maintenance line if after hours.
If you have any other questions/concerns please feel free to contact us.
During normal business hours (Monday through Friday, 8:30 am – 4:00 pm), please give us a call so that we may assist you. Outside of these hours, and on all holidays please call our emergency service line:
North Carolina: 910-685-8031
Please give us a call to discuss the after hours lock out service fee.
You must provide Port Property with a *30-day written notice to vacate. All roommates will need to submit their notice as well. (*60-day written notice to vacate must be provided for Portland, ME properties.)
If you are interested in renting a different apartment that is managed by Port Property please give us a call. All current tenants must be in good standing (pay rent on time, keep a neat and clean apartment, etc.) and be approved prior to looking at other apartments. Please note, move-in specials do not pertain to current tenants/transfers.
If you must vacate before the end of your lease term, you would continue to be responsible for rent through the end of the lease term, or until the unit rented again. Port Property will start to advertise and show the unit, which may have an updated rental rate according to market value. You must pay monthly rent until a new lease is signed (rent can be pro-rated up to the date of move-in).
We need to process a rental application for every person over the age of 18 who occupies an apartment with us.
For Maine: We charge a *$18 non-refundable screening fee for each application. Once approved, all parties would need to sign a new lease amendment. (*Application fees are not charged for Portland properties).
For North Carolina: We charge a $50 non-refundable processing fee for each application. Once approved, all parties would need to sign a new lease amendment.
Give us a call so that we can send an invite to your new roommate to apply.
If a roommate will be moving out, Port Property must approve the removal of the tenant’s name and a new lease must be signed.
If your vehicle is towed, you must call the towing company to make arrangements. All towing charges are at the vehicle owner’s expense. Port Property will not reimburse for towing charges incurred.
K&R Towing: 207-854-2072
656 Stroudwater St
Westbrook, ME 04092
Rosak’s Towing & Recovery: 910–254-0850
5022 Carolina Beach Rd.
Wilmington, NC 28412
Air Conditioners (A/C) are only permitted in apartments if they are installed and removed by Port Property, and may be used only in the summer months starting in June. You must provide your own A/C and the max BTU’s for each unit shall be 6,000. Please contact Port Property to request installation of A/C only after the A/C unit is removed from its box and placed by the window you wish to have maintenance install the unit into. You will also need to provide proof of Renter’s Insurance with a minimum of $300,000 Personal Liability coverage. A/C’s must be removed from your apartment by September 30.
*LIHTC units will be charged a $50 fee per install/ removal
If Port Property pays for the electricity in the building where you reside, there will be a charge of $50.00 monthly for each month of A/C usage (LIHTC units excluded). This monthly fee will be applied to your account and be due on the first of the month.
Tenants may not install their own A/C under any circumstance; this is cause for eviction upon (5) days written notice. Tenant will be held fully responsible for any damage(s) to the building that may result from the installation and/or use of said A/C, as well as for any injuries sustained by tenant and/or anyone else, and tenant shall indemnify and hold harmless the property owner and Port Property from any and all such damages and/or injuries.
Your security deposit will be returned to you within 30 days of the end of your lease responsibility, minus any deductions for cleaning and/or damages. Any deductions will be noted on an itemized list of charges. In order to expedite the process, please be sure to inform us of your new address prior to moving out of the apartment. If you have not received your security deposit during the expected time-frame, or if you have questions regarding the deductions, please give us a call.